Giving hope to those affected
by secondary breast cancer

Research. Support. Education.

What do the different stages of breast cancer mean? 

13th November 2021 by Jack Allan

What do the different stages of breast cancer mean

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is and how far it has spread and helps your team decide which treatment is needed.


Stage 1 


The earliest stage where the cancer is found in the breast or lymphs nodes under the arm. Lymph nodes are small glands found around the body and are part of the immune system. 


Stage 2 


Stage 2 breast cancer means that the cancer is either in the breast or in the nearby lymph nodes or both. It is an early stage breast cancer.


Stage 3


Stage 3 breast cancer is when the cancer has spread from the breast to the lymph nodes in the armpit and sometimes to other lymph nodes nearby.  It is also known as locally advanced breast cancer.


Stage 4


Stage 4 breast cancer is also referred to as secondary, metastatic or advanced breast cancer. This is when the breast cancer cells have spread to another part of the body through the bloodstream or lymphatic system. The most common parts of the body affected are the liver, brain, bones, lungs or the skin.